Speakers

Learn from some of the world’s greatest speakers, health professionals, clinicians, lecturers and authors inspired to share with you their clinical knowledge and pearls of wisdom

Our Speakers for the March 2023 Conference

Jonathan Shubs

Brandt Stickley

Slate Burris

Andrew Sterman

Sohial Farzam

Ann Cecil

Henry McCann

Michael Corradino

Evan Rabinowitz

Jimmy Chang

Joan Duveen

Julian Scott

Schedule of Presentations

Jonathan Shubs

About Jonathan Shubs

Naturopathic Practitioner in Traditional Chinese Medicine with Advanced Federal Diploma of Higher Education  (Swiss)  Ac. Dipl. TCM-FVS, FNMTC, NVS, EMR, ASCA

A graduate of Shao Yang Institute, Jonathan has been in private practice in Lausanne (CH) since 2006. To refine his skills and explore further methods, he studied extensively with Dr, Richard Tan and received the Balance Method Gold level practitioner status in 2014.  In 2012 he published his first article in the Journal of Chinese Medicine titled Foundations of Meridian Theory.  This article was the foundation of his Unified Acupuncture Theory which he has developed into a complete system for understand the channels and their interactions.  

He is a teacher at the Chiway Academy in Winterthur, Switzerland and also teaches his Unified Acupuncture Theory system worldwide. He is about to release a book in July 2021 titled “Sun’s Season of Channels” which is an introduction to Chinese medical thought and channel systems and it’s main focus centers on integrative acupuncture where he joins different styles and theories to create a coherent and logical approach to diagnosis and treatment. 

Events

Title of Presentation

Date of Presentation

Wednesday 1st March 2023 at 7am AEDT (Tuesday 28th February 2023 at 3pm EST Tuesday 28th February 2023 at 2pm CST Tuesday 28th February 2023 at 1pm MST Tuesday 28th February 2023 at 12pm PST)

About Michael Corradino

Dr. Corradino Graduated from Pacific College of Oriental Medicine, Cum Laude, in 1995 with his Masters in the Sciences of Traditional Oriental Medicine.  His undergraduate studies combine molecular biology and philosophy.  Dr Corradino has been in the field of Integrated Medicine since his graduation (Presently 25+yrs).  Michael’s mission in life is to reach and expose quality Traditional Chinese Medicine to as many people as possible in his lifetime as to present an effective, quality option for health care and aiding in the integration of Eastern, Western, and, Natural medicine.   Michael relocated to San Diego in 2004 to complete the first Doctorate in Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, DAOM, in America, in an effort to further enrich and deepen his understanding of Traditional Chinese Medicine. He was in the first graduating class in the nation to complete the DAOM.

 Dr Corradino has also studied medicine under five highly renowned and experienced doctors at two hospitals and one medical school in China.  Dr Corradino also presented Neuropuncture in China at the GanSu Orthopedic surgical hospital in 2019.

 Combining all of this knowledge and through extensive research Dr Corradino has created a new unique system of acupuncture named, Neuropuncture.  Neuropuncture is a complete acupuncture system that incorporates neuroscience and other western medical sciences into its clinical applications for pain management, orthopedic conditions, mental health, and internal medicine. Dr Corradino published his first book on “Neuropuncture, a neuroscience acupuncture system” in 2011, and his second edition with Singing Dragon publishing house in 2017. He has published several medical research papers and is currently involved in ground-breaking neuroscience electro-acupuncture research. Dr Corradino is also involved in groundbreaking stem cell and spinal cord injury electro-acupuncture research. He is also a published medical article contributor.

Dr. Corradino’s specialties are pain management, neurological conditions, internal medicine, mental health, and general well-being/ longevity.   Applying neuroscience to acupuncture and various types of electro acupuncture, applying the pharmacology to Traditional Chinese Herbology, cupping and Tui Na (Chinese structural alignment) are his specialties.  Dr. Corradino’s passion, devotion and belief in the Integration of Traditional Chinese Medicine and 21st century Western Medical sciences contributes to his success.

Events

Title of Presentation

"Addictions & Sleep from a Neuropuncture Perspective"

Date of Presentation

Saturday 4th March 2023 at 9am AEDT (Friday 3rd March 2023 at 5pm EST Friday 3rd March 2023 at 4pm CST Friday 3rd March 2023 at 3pm MST Friday 3rd March 2023 at 2pm PST)

Michael Corradino

Slate Burris

About Slate Burris

Dr. Slate Burris earned his bachelor’s degree in philosophy from Bucknell University. He earned his Masters in Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine at Oregon College of Oriental Medicine after spending a year in China studying under Master Wang Si Ping. He later earned his Doctorate of Oriental Medicine from Pacific College of Oriental Medicine.

In 2008, he relocated to Mexico to organize free clinics in the mountains of Oaxaca and Michoacan. For many years, he was a ardent student of Kiiko Matsumoto’s and Tung’s acupuncture styles. Through his classical studies and clinical experience, over the last decade and a half, he has developed Neoclassical Acupuncture, a palpatory technique based on a 6-element model with instant results on both the root and symptomatic levels.

Dr. Burris has given over 350 seminars in total, training thousands of acupuncturists in Mexico, Russia, and, more recently, Europe. In 2019, he published Neoclassical Acupuncture. In September 2021, a Russian translation of the same name was released. A Spanish version will be released in late 2022. He delivered the keynote address at the 15th Annual All-Russian Conference of Acupuncturists 2020 and the 3rd Annual All-Russian Scientific and Practical Conference 2022. He still resides in Mexico with his wife, two children, and faithful dog, from where he travels extensively, giving approximately 40 seminars per year.

Events

Title of Presentation

“Neoclassical Acupuncture:  Mental/Emotional Levels and Beyond”

Date of Presentation

Sunday 5th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Saturday 4th March 2023 at 4pm EST Saturday 4th March 2023 at 3pm CST Saturday 4th March 2023 at 2pm MST Saturday 4th March 2023 at 1pm PST)

About Julian Scott

Julian Scott obtained a PhD in physics at Cambridge, and followed it by research in semiconductors. He then went on to study acupuncture at ICOM in East Grinstead, England, completing in 1976; then in Nanjing, China in 1982. He has a special interest in treating children and is the author, with Teresa Barlow, of Acupuncture in the Treatment of Children and Autism and Acupuncture. He has always had a special interest in eye diseases, and is the author of Acupuncture for the Eyes. He has given courses in many countries in Europe, the USA and elsewhere. Recently he has started a small project on treating Alzheimer’s disease with acupuncture and Western herbs.

Events

Title of Presentation

"Alzheimers disease, Acupuncture and Herbs"

Date of Presentation

Wednesday 8th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Tuesday 7th March 2023 at 5pm EST Tuesday 7th March 2023 at 4pm CST Tuesday 7th March 2023 at 3pm MST Tuesday 7th March 2023 at 2pm PST)

Julian Scott

Andrew Sterman

About Andrew Sterman

Andrew Sterman is author of a comprehensive introduction to food practice in Chinese medicine, Welcoming Food: Diet as Medicine for Home Cooks and Other Healers, Books 1 and 2.  He sees patients in New York City and online for Chinese medicine dietary therapy, medical qigong and meditation.   Mr Sterman began studying cooking in 1988 at the Natural Gourmet Cookery School and at the same time entered Chinese medicine through qigong and tai chi.  Specifically in order to deepen his understanding of food energetics, in 2000 Mr Sterman began intensive study of Chinese herbal medicine, diagnostics, medical theory, and dietary therapy with Daoist master Jeffrey Yuen.  Mr Sterman writes a regular dietary column for the Golden Flower Chinese Herbs newsletter and is nearing completion on his third book, Welcoming Grains.  In addition to his travel schedule, Mr Sterman teaches food theory and practical home cooking in Manhattan, where he lives with his family.  

Events

Title of Presentation

"Food as Medicine for Anxiety and Mental Health Concerns (A Chinese Medicine Perspective)"

Date of Presentation

Saturday 11th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Friday 10th March 2023 at 4pm EST Friday 10th March 2023 at 3pm CST Friday 10th March 2023 at 2pm MST Friday 10th March 2023 at 1pm PST)

About Ann Cecil

Ann Cecil-Sterman is the author of three major books including Advanced Acupuncture: A Clinic Manual, acclaimed as the first and only text with complete protocols for all the channels of acupuncture, a book used often as the sole basis for several online courses presented by many teachers around the world. Ann works to return acupuncture to its inspiring classical roots, not just to the Han Dynasty writings but even to earlier understandings. She teaches in three continents and offers a twice-monthly online chat where practitioners—new and established—present cases and ask any level of question. She graduated from, and then taught for six years at the acupuncture school founded by Dr Jeffrey Yuen in New York. During and after her time there for over 20 years she received thousands of hours of direct transmissions from him in acupuncture, pulse diagnosis, history, food, herbs, essential oils, stones, qigong and philosophy. In her busy Manhattan practice which she loves, she specializes in seemingly intractable conditions. www.anncecilsterman.com

Events

Title of Presentation

“Stability in the Room: Staying Present with Traumatized Patients"

Date of Presentation

Sunday 12th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Saturday 11th March 2023 at 4pm EST Saturday 11th March 2023 at 3pm CST Saturday 11th March 2023 at 2pm MST Saturday 11th March 2023 at 1pm PST)

Ann Cecil

Joan Duveen

About Joan Duveen

Joan Duveen has worked in healthcare since 1972, he has practiced acupuncture in his private clinic since 1980 and has taught Chinese philosophy and acupuncture internationally for almost 40 years.

From an early age Joan was fascinated by Eastern philosophy, meditation and the relationship between body, mind and spirit. He believes and experiences that self-understanding through self-reflection and internal development is an integral part of Chinese medicine.

He is inspired by his teacher Dr J.D. van Buren, a pioneer in the field of applying heavenly stems and earthly branches acupuncture in the clinical practice. Joan recently shared his experience and understanding of this significant but historically often forgotten approach to acupuncture in a book: Applying Stems and Branches in Clinical Practice; Dynamic Dualities in Classical Chinese Medicine.

Events

Title of Presentation

"Trauma processing using the ten heavenly stems"

Date of Presentation

Wednesday 15th March 2023 at 7pm AEDT (Wednesday 15th March 2023 at 4am EDT Wednesday 15th March 2023 at 3am CDT Wednesday 15th March 2023 at 2am MDT Wednesday 15th March 2023 at 1am PDT)

About Henry McCann

Henry McCann, DAOM practices East Asian Medicine in New Jersey (USA). He is the author of Pricking the Vessels: Bloodletting in Chinese Medicine, and the co-author of Practical Atlas of Tung’s Acupuncture. He is also the author of numerous articles on all aspects of East Asian Medicine, and blogs regularly on seasonal harmonization, health, and internal martial arts. Dr. McCann is a teacher of Hunyuan Chen Style Taijiquan, and Neigong in the lineage of Hu Yaozhen. 

Events

Title of Presentation

"Stress, the Mind, and Tung’s Acupuncture: An Introduction"

Date of Presentation

Sunday 19th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Saturday 18th March 2023 at 5pm EDT Saturday 18th March 2023 at 4pm CDT Saturday 18th March 2023 at 3pm MDT Saturday 18th March 2023 at 2pm PDT)

Henry McCann

Sohial Farzam

About Sohial Farzam

Sohial Farzam is an Australian registered Acupuncturist and he has been practicing for 20 years. He was also a long-term lecturer at the Endeavour College of Natural Health (formally known as the Australian College of Natural Medicine) in Melbourne Australia for 14 years. Recently he has paused teaching at the college only to expand his teaching publicly, both domestic and internationally.

Sohial’s main area of speciality is in Psycho-Emotional imbalances and emotional empowerment. His a well-known practicing acupuncturist in Australia where he practices as a Emotional Wellbeing Acupuncturist in a multi-modality health centre. He currently presents many seminars on psychological and mental health conditions around Australia, New Zealand and hosts many industry speakers. He is also the founder of this symposium.
He has a special interest in human psychology, human behaviour, neuroscience, quantum physics and philosophy. He integrates all these study angles into TCM concepts to fully understand the dynamics of the psyche. Sohial has also completed further qualifications completing internships in China. He has 2 certifications in clinical studies working in Liaoning Hospital of TCM in the area of neurology, eye microsystem and advanced acupuncture as well as certifications in Beijing in specialised Acupuncture and Abdominal Acupuncture protocols. Sohial also founded and is the owner of one of the quickest growing Acupuncture and Chinese medicine supplies wholesaler called NeedlePro Australia. His products can be found at www.needlepro.com.au

Events

Title of Presentation

"Poly-Vagal Theory and the 8 Extraordinary Vessels in Early Life Trauma"

Date of Presentation

Wednesday 22nd March 2023 at 7pm AEDT (Wednesday 22nd March 2023 at 4am EDT Wednesday 22nd March 2023 at 3am CDT Wednesday 22nd March 2023 at 2am MDT Wednesday 22nd March 2023 at 1am PDT)

About Evan Rabinowitz

Dr. Evan M. Rabinowitz is the former Director of Chinese Herbal Medicine at the Maryland University of Integrative Health (MUIH) where during his 8-year tenure he helped create the University’s Masters and Doctorate programs in Oriental Medicine. Currently, he is a professor at Daoist Traditions College of Chinese Medical Arts, Asheville.  

He is a lecturer at Georgetown University School of Medicine’s Integrative Medicine Program, Washington, DC. He was formerly an instructor and Chinese herbal supervisor at the Academy for Five Element Acupuncture, Gainesville.

Evan has an active private teaching schedule offering continuing education for practitioners across the country and internationally.   Evan is currently teaching two extended study training for practitioners: Chinese Medicine Specialty Rotations and the Yao Shan Herb Program. Evan has been studying extensively with Jeffrey Yuen for the last twenty years.  He is the founder of Yao Shan Center for Chinese Medicine in Washington, DC, his clinical practice for the more than 20 years.  He is a graduate of the George Washington University (B.A.), Traditional Acupuncture Institute (M.Ac.) and Maryland University of Integrative Health (D.Ac.).

Events

Title of Presentation

"Tongue Diagnosis in Mental Health Conditions"

Date of Presentation

Saturday 25th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Friday 24th March 2023 at 5pm EDT Friday 24th March 2023 at 4pm CDT Friday 24th March 2023 at 3pm MDT Friday 24th March 2023 at 2pm PDT)

Evan Rabinowitz

Jimmy Chang

About Jimmy Chang

Master Jimmy Wei-Yen Chang is a Doctor of Oriental Medicine trained in Taiwan and a licensed acupuncturist in California and New York. He has over 40 years of concentrated clinical experience treating over 500,000 patients, and applying his expertise in differential diagnosis and herbal prescription. Master Chang is the author of the pulse diagnosis manual, Pulsynergy, and he currently pursues his specialties in private practice in Hacienda Heights, California. He is widely recognized for his skills in correlating definitive pulse diagnoses with herbal prescription.

Events

Title of Presentation

"Chronic Anxiety and Depression as presented on the pulse and herbal treatment strategies"

Date of Presentation

Sunday 26th March 2023 at 8am AEDT (Saturday 25th March at 5pm EDT Saturday 25th March at 4pm CDT Saturday 25th March at 3pm MDT Saturday 25th March at 2pm PDT)

About Brandt Stickley

Brandt Stickley is Associate Professor in the College of Classical Chinese Medicine at the National University of Natural Medicine. His work is a synthesis of Classical Jingfang herbal medicine, Shen-Hammer Pulse Diagnosis, and the psychiatric model of Hammer’s Dragon Rises, Red Bird Flies. He teaches widely in doctoral programs in the US, and is the Lead Instructor in the Five Branches Certificate in Chinese Medical Psychology and Trauma-informed Practice.

Events

Title of Presentation

“The Wholeness in our Wounds: Healing and the Authentic Self”

Date of Presentation

Friday 31st March 2023 at 5pm AEDT (Friday 31st March 2023 at 2am EDT Friday 31st March 2023 at 1am CDT Friday 31st March 2023 at 12am MDT Friday 30th March 2023 at 11pm PDT)

Brandt Stickley